sick of books?


I am a librarian, and the reason why i choose the major at the first place is because i love reading and i love books. But this is the time of the year when i am sick of books. why? because this is the time when all the students return all the library books and text books back to school, and it’s my responsibility to check them one by one, make sure all the school’s books are back. In a way i should be happy because all my kids are back to me, but imagine there are more than 300 students in this school and each students must return at least 5 books to me. I don’t even want to do the math. It’s overwhelming.

So when one of the parents ask me, “where are you going during the vacation?”, i answered “what vacation?”.  Teachers got vacation, but librarian not . In fact the mount of work for me during this time is greater than the work during the school year. So i can only ask for 2 or 3 days off so that i can take my kids swimming or something. Basically during this time i have to prepare books for the new school year. We bought new books for additional students, plastic wrap them, replace the broken plastic wrap from the old books, labeling all the books with students name, data Entry for new library books, and the list keep going on. I also helps teacher with their books, especially new teachers.

So don’t blame me for hating books right now. Overall I am grateful for this job, i am so thankful for all the  friends who are always helping me. Other than that the working hour in vacation only from 07.00 to 13.00. So i can go home early everyday. It’s my 5th year in this place, and i thank God for this job.

Leave a Reply

