Learn from another writer…(1)


I am reading a novel called  Golden Grove and this is my first time reading Francine Prose writing. It’s an interesting stories about a 13-year-old girl name Nico who lost her sister Margaret whom she loves and adores. As she try to recover from her lost, she falls into a relationship with her sister’s boyfriend. Honestly I haven’t finish reading yet, but I love how the writer express her thoughts in this Nico’s character and want to share some of my favorite lines in this book.

About the Mirror Lake

I picture the four of us wading in the shallows, admiring our reflections in the glassy, motionless lake. Then something – a pebble, a raindrop – breaks the surface and shatters the mirror (page 1).

Comparing herself with the sister

People told us we looked alike, but I couldn’t see it. Margaret was the beautiful sister, willowy and blond. The lake breeze carried her perfect smell. She smelled like cookies baking…I was the pudgy, awkward sister. I still smelled dusty, like a kid. (page 8)

Feeling of  making a bad choice

I always took forever deciding, until I’d finally give up, give in, and settle on something awful. I knew it was only ice cream. But the lumpy cherry vanilla and the gross butterscotch mocha raisin seemed like a frozen symbol of everything wrong with my life (page 16)

Try to runaway from the reality

I kept my eyes shut the whole time and blocked out the service by chanting nonsense inside my head. I tried to imagine a beautiful place. Margaret had taught me to do that when I went to the dentist. But nothing worked, there was nowhere to go. Not the lake, not the rowboat, not Times Square, not Paris. (page 24)

Time is agonizing when you are loose someone you love

I waited for dawn, but only because I had forgotten how hard mornings were. For a second, I’d feel normal. Then came the dim awareness of something off, out-of-place. Then the truth came crashing in, and that was for the rest of the day. Sunlight was a reproof. shouldn’t I feel better than I had in the dead of night? (page 37)

Ruin her own protection

I’d made this rules for my own protection. But every so often I broke one just to see how it felt. (page 44)

Sympathy for her father

As I rejected book after book, I saw what my poor father had to endure. His customers …asked how he was getting along …Or they’d tell him how sorry they were and gaze into his eyes, their own eyes brimming with puppylike adoration. Their literary Romeo, he was everything their husband weren’t – a reader, a listener, sensitive and handsome. Now that he’d been wounded, they took on his injury as their own. Everyone of them could have healed him, and she knew just how she would do it. (page 57)

Try to get along with mother

In the cramped changing cubicles, I twirled around for my mother. I knew what would please her – practical, subtle, unsexy. And I wanted to please her more than I care about looking pretty. Especially when nothing looked pretty. I might as well listen to her. Margaret said she didn’t understand the unflattering outfits I bought with Mom on these trips. How odd that Mom’s thrifty inner puritan should choose to emerge at the mall. (page 72-73)

That’s how far I go. Francine is the author of fifteen fiction books including A Changed Man and Blue Angel (I wish to read those book soon) which was a finalist for the National Book Award. This book was named a best book of the year by Washington Post, San Francisco Chronicle and St Louis Post-Dispatch. It’s a must to read!

  

 

One thought on “Learn from another writer…(1)

Leave a Reply

