my little knowledge of India…



Namaste….
When I was a teenager some people thought that I am an Indian. I took pride of it, because I think Indian women are one of the most beautiful people in the world. I never been there, but really hoping to visit that country one day. Since I read the book Slumdog Millionaire I become more interesting with India. I try to retrieve some of my knowledge about this amazing country and add some more to it.

General Information
Neighbouring with Pakistan, China, Nepal and Bangladesh
Country with the second largest population in the world
Religion: Hindu, Jainism, and Sikhism.
The Currency is Rupee
Cow consider to be the Holy Animal

Who like Indian Movies?
They have Bollywood in Mumbai
It is a single country with the biggest film production in a year
Some of their film stars are: Aishwarya Rai, Shahrukh Khan, Amitabh Bachchan and Kajol
Movie I have seen: Kuch Kuch Hota hai, Mohabbaein, 3 Idiots, and others

City or Places I have heard:
Agra where the Taj Mahal is
New Delhi is the Capital
Chennai once in the TV Serial “Heroes”
Kolkata is where Mother Teresa served the poor

Food to crave
Chapati is the flat bread the Indian eat
Dhal, a soup made of lentil beans
Mango Lassi is one of the coolest drink made of youghurt

Famous People
Mahatma Gandhi known for his philosophy Ahimsa (nonviolence) movement
Jawaharlal Nehru, The first Prime Minister of India
Sonia Gandhi is Indira Gandhi’s daughter in law and whose husband Rajiv was assassinated in 1991

Things I tend to relate with India:
Cobra, the poisonous snake that can kill people
Yoga, a way of meditation with folded legs.
The horizontal movement of head when the people talk.

What I love about India:
Sari, the dress for women made of a long piece of cloths
The music is very dynamic and they always dance to it, whether its happy or sad.
Long thick black hair of the woman

My Indian connections
Mercy Venkat, a teacher whom used to teach Chemistry here.
Beautiful twin girls who are attending our school Manjiri & Gauri
Mohan Najundan and John Louis are some of incredible Indian people I’ve met.

One thought on “my little knowledge of India…

Leave a Reply

