who are you?


“who are you” seems like a simple question, but can you answer it truthfully, knowing exactly who you are? When the Jews asked him this question, John the Baptist answer “I am the voice of the one calling in the desert, ‘Make straight the way for the Lord.'” (John 1:23)

John was born in a religious family. His mother Elizabeth was from Aaron descendant and his father Zechariah was from the Priestly Division of Abijah (Luke 1:5-6). He grew up studying the Torah and know how important God for the Jews. He went through all the stages the Jews boy must going through, but that’s not the identity card he want to flash.

The angel did came to his father and spoke about him being a joy and delight to them. He will be filled with the Holy Spirit from birth and bring many people back to God that was the picture his father get from the angel. I am sure he spoke about this to John as he started to understand GOD in his life, but I also believed there was time when John encounter God himself to know who he really was. In John 1:33 he said. “I would not have known him, except the One who sent me to baptize with water told me”

I am not the Christ, not Elijah, not The Prophet (John 1:20-21)… That’s what he said while he’s living in the desert, with camel-hair clothes, leather belt around his waist, eating locusts and wild honey… screamed the message of repentance, not really an impressive person people would looking for. But that’s the thing, he’s not there to impress anybody, he’s there to get them focus on GOD…on Jesus. Amazingly people did come to him and most of them turned to GOD because John living the purpose God has for him.

Many times as Christian we know we need to preach about Jesus, but at the same time we want to be recognized as well. We like people to thanks us, notice what we did or even pad us on the back. The thing is, if you are on the spotlight, God will be in dark spot. But if you let God in the spotlight, you will be dimmed and John knew this perfectly that’s why he said “He must become greater, I must become less” (John 3:30)

To answer this simple question… I must see myself through God’s point of view. Yes I am a mother of 2, I am the eldest in my family, I am a holder of a Master degree, or a photographer,… but to know ME, I must be close enough to Him, to know what His purpose for my existence on earth and living it out.

Leave a Reply

