what my sickness brought to me?


First it brought me the virus…

After several blood test, the doctor told me I got Dengue Fever. It came from the Mosquito bite, most likely at home. I always hope I will never catch this bug, but i guess i am not that imun. Many Indonesian have it. They said there is no specific medication, they just treat the symptomp such as terrible headache and fever. what we can do is to drink alot and rest, but It can cause death if it late to be treated.

Complains….

as i was brought to the hospital and get a 3rd class room all I can think of were: this hospital need lots of maintenance. Nothing seems right with the bathroom, the shape, the unfunction tools,  the blood or other stain in the curtains or bed sheet, the other patients habit and even the doctor who show up 24 hours after I hospitalized. I was thinking of writing a full page of things this hospital need to fix or upgrade.

Fluids….

I am not a very good in terms of drink water. I can go about my days drinking just 5-6 glass of water a day, that already including tea in the morning and afternoon. So when I was told to drink lots of fluids I feel so struggled. My husband bought me bottles of Aqua and some friends brought juices and I fight to consume them all so my thrombosite (blood cells) will go up fast. I am glad after 5 days in the hospital finally my body started to get better.

Friends and Family….

Mom and dad came everyday. My brother Pierre and his family visit before they left for Africa. My brother Joe and family came twice, they were worry to hear my thrombosite goes down. My sister Rannu and Christie too. Only my brother David didn’t make it because he was out of town for his Ping-pong tournament. Really appreciate my cousin Liz came all the way from Bekasi and Diana from Cibubur to visit. Friends from Church who came; Rebi and Cynthia (our pastor). Lily a friend who live near by came twice. Arther, Shella, Murni, Vero, Eddy, Susan (Pamulang). Ultor, Yose, Kris Salon, Witi and Kris, Alex, Desi (Bintaro). Poer and Narto our old friends from Depok. Iswan and Iin a couple we are studying the Bible with. Other than that many friends from in and out of town give their support through BB messages, SMS and facebook. Especially thanks to Lisda (Bogor) Cink2 (West Jakarta) who guided me with the treatment

Patience….

After 2 days stay in the hospital, my daughter joined me. She got the same sympthon too. I have moved to the 2nd class room so we can stay together. When I just started sick at home, I was angry to her because I was hoping she help with some house work, instead she read book in her room. But later on after I listen to her explaination, she told her father how her brother make some mess and she’s the one who clean after, I understand what she trying to say. And when she got fever I become patience toward her, but still not easy to remind her to drink often and too not watch too much TV at the hospital. Glad we got time to pray and read our Bible together.

Ephesians….

lastly, this sickness brought the book Ephesians closer to me. I learn from Paul how important to pray for the people to get a better understanding about God Himself, because that’s what make people stay strong and do great things for Him. Another thing I learn is How the body of Christ made of different kind of people, but it can grow to a beautiful community as they learn to love one another and do their part. 

Leave a Reply

